European Central Bank

The European Central Bank (ECB) is the central bank for the euro area, consisting of 19 European Union (EU) member countries. Its main objective is to ensure price stability by formulating and implementing monetary policy. The ECB conducts activities such as managing the euro currency, overseeing banking institutions, and maintaining the stability of the financial system within the euro area.